1400 Colonial Blvd., Suite 1  |  Fort Myers  |  FL  |  33907  |  Phone: (239) 938-1813  |  Fax: (239) 938-1817    

Mission: to work together across neighboring communities to consistently protect and improve the unique and relatively unspoiled character of the physical, economic and social worlds we share for the benefit of our future generations.

Local Emergency Planning Committee

The Southwest Florida Local Emergency Planning Committee is mandated by law. In 1986, Congress passed Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA Title III). Sara Title III is known as the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act (EPCRA). EPCRA was passed to increase public and private efforts to reduce risks associated with the use and storage of hazardous chemicals.

Moreover, it establishes a unique public/private partnership of government entities and industry for the planning and reporting of hazardous and toxic chemicals. The Florida Hazardous Materials Emergency Response and Community Right to Know Act of 1988, implements the federal legislation and provides a funding mechanism to support activities.

    The intent of the legislation is two fold:
  • To develop plans to respond quickly in the event of an accident, spill or release of chemicals or hazardous materials.
  • To increase the public’s knowledge and access to information regarding the presence of hazardous chemicals in the community and releases of the chemicals into the environment.

Who are Members?

The Southwest Florida (District IX) Local Emergency Planning Committee is comprised of unpaid volunteers appointed by the Florida State Emergency Response Commission whose members are appointed by the Governor.

SPOTLIGHT - Hazardous Materials Exercise


State Meetings